ECOMMERCE PLATFORM GUIDE

Best Ecommerce Platforms for Different Business Needs

There is no single best ecommerce platform for every business. Hosted and self-hosted options cost money in different ways, so plan prices alone are not enough to compare. A platform transaction fee is not the same as a payment-processing fee, and some stores pay both. Catalog size, sales thresholds and whether you also sell in person all change which platform fits.

This guide compares eight ecommerce platforms using their documented plans, limits, fees and positioning. BestPickRadar did not independently test checkout performance or conversion rates, so nothing here is a performance ranking. Use it to shortlist ecommerce software that suits your store, then confirm current pricing and fees with the provider.

Ecommerce Platforms Comparison Table

U.S. pricing from official provider pages, research updated October 12, 2026.

Eight ecommerce platforms compared by fit, free access, paid pricing, limits, fees and main limitation.
PlatformBest suited forFree / trialPrimary paid referenceImportant limitImportant fee noteMain limitation
ShopifyHostedGeneral-purpose hosted ecommerce3-day free trialBasic US$39/month monthly or US$29/month yearlyUnlimited productsBasic: 2% Shopify transaction fee with a third-party payment provider; payment processing separateApps and payment costs can raise total cost
WooCommerceSelf-hostedWordPress/self-hosted storesFree, open-source core softwareNo required WooCommerce core subscription; hosting commonly estimated US$25–US$350/monthNo fixed hosted-plan catalog limit; depends partly on hosting/resourcesNo WooCommerce platform transaction fee; processor fees apply separatelyFree core does not mean zero operating cost
BigCommerceHostedGrowing stores15-day free trialCore US$39/month or US$29/month billed annuallyUS$30,000 trailing-12-month Inclusive GMV threshold on CoreCore Embedded Payment Providers 0%; Open Payment Providers 2%; processor fees separateGMV thresholds and provider-fee rules add complexity
WixWebsite + commerceWebsite-first small ecommerceFree website plan exists but does not include ecommerce selling; 14-day money-back guarantee on most premium subscriptionsCore US$29/month, yearly subscription paid in full50 GB storage; 5 collaboratorsPayment processing separate from subscriptionFree site plan does not include ecommerce or payments
SquarespaceWebsite + commerceDesign/content-led stores14-day free trialCore US$39/month monthly or US$29/month annual-billing equivalentPricing page: unlimited products/services; Help Center: 10,000-product site-wide limitCore 0% Squarespace commerce transaction fee; Basic 2%; payment processing separateBasic's 2% fee makes plan choice important
SquareOnline + POSOnline + in-person commerceFree US$0/month/location; Plus/Premium 30-day free trialPlus US$49/month/location; Premium US$149/month/locationPricing is per locationOnline processing: Free 3.3%+30¢; Plus/Premium 2.9%+30¢ (payment-processing fees)Location-based subscriptions plus processing costs
EcwidEmbedded commerceAdding a store to an existing websiteStarter: up to 10 products (price not published)Venture US$35/month or US$29/month equivalent billed annually (US$348/year)Up to 100 products on Venture0 Ecwid transaction fees; 0 Ecwid setup fees; processor fees separateProduct limits matter as the catalog grows
Big CartelCreator storeArtists, makers and small catalogsGold US$0 (5 products); Platinum 7-day free trialPlatinum US$15/month or US$144/yearUp to 50 products on PlatinumNo Big Cartel platform/listing transaction fee; processor fees separateSmall catalog limits

HOW THIS GUIDE WAS BUILT

How We Evaluated

BestPickRadar compared these eight platforms using official pricing pages, plan documentation and fee information, with research updated on October 12, 2026. We looked at:

  • Hosted vs. self-hosted structure
  • Free plan or trial availability
  • Paid pricing and billing cycle
  • Product and catalog limits
  • GMV or sales thresholds
  • Platform transaction fees vs. payment-processing fees
  • Online vs. in-person fit
  • Small-business fit and major limitations

We did not perform checkout, conversion, payment success-rate, store-speed, uptime, support or hands-on usability testing. Where a figure is an estimate or depends on billing, we label it rather than present it as a fixed price. This guide uses no scores, ratings or performance winner, and “fit” labels are editorial interpretations of documented plans and features.

The 8 Ecommerce Platforms

Shopify

Hosted
General-purpose hosted ecommerce
Starting reference
Basic US$39/mo or US$29/mo yearly
Catalog / GMV
Unlimited products
Platform fee
2% with third-party provider (Basic)
Billing
Monthly or yearly

Shopify is a hosted ecommerce platform for building and running an online store. Editorial fit: general-purpose hosted ecommerce. A 3-day free trial is available. Basic costs US$39/month on monthly billing, or US$29/month on yearly billing, with unlimited products. On Basic, using a third-party payment provider instead of Shopify Payments adds a 2% Shopify transaction fee. Main limitation: total cost can go beyond the subscription through payment costs, apps and optional services.

COST STRUCTURESubscription + processing + possible third-party provider fee

Pricing & limits details: Shopify

On Basic in the U.S., Shopify Payments charges a standard online card rate of 2.9% + 30¢; that is a payment-processing cost, not a subscription fee. If you use a third-party provider instead, Shopify's 2% transaction fee applies and that provider charges its own processing fees as well. Shopify currently advertises US$1/month for 3 months after the trial, but that is a temporary promotion, not the evergreen price.

View official Shopify page

WooCommerce

Self-hosted
WordPress/self-hosted control
Starting reference
No required core subscription
Catalog / GMV
No fixed limit; hosting-dependent
Platform fee
None
Billing
Hosting billed separately (~US$25–US$350/mo)

WooCommerce is free, open-source ecommerce software for WordPress, but hosting, extensions and payment processing can add costs. Editorial fit: WordPress and self-hosted stores that want more control. There is no required WooCommerce subscription for the core software, and WooCommerce says it does not take a platform revenue share or charge a platform transaction fee. Main limitation: free core software does not mean a WooCommerce store costs US$0 to operate.

COST STRUCTUREFree core + hosting + extensions + processing

Pricing & limits details: WooCommerce

WooCommerce's official pricing guidance estimates hosting for many stores at roughly US$25–US$350/month, and paid extensions commonly cost about US$29–US$299/year each. These are estimates and ranges, not required WooCommerce plan prices. Payment gateways and processors charge their own fees. WooCommerce says it can handle thousands of products, but actual capacity depends partly on your hosting and site resources.

View official WooCommerce page

BigCommerce

Hosted
Growing stores / structured commerce
Starting reference
Core US$39/mo or US$29/mo annual
Catalog / GMV
US$30K trailing-12-month GMV (Core)
Platform fee
Open Provider 2%; Embedded 0% (Core)
Billing
Monthly or annual

BigCommerce is a hosted ecommerce platform whose current plans are Core, Growth, Scale and Performance. Editorial fit: growing stores that need structured commerce features and can manage GMV and fee rules. A 15-day free trial is available. Core costs US$39/month, or US$29/month billed annually. Core is subject to a US$30,000 trailing-12-month Inclusive GMV threshold. Main limitation: GMV thresholds and provider-fee rules make total pricing more complicated than the headline subscription.

COST STRUCTURESubscription + GMV-tiered provider fee + processing

Pricing & limits details: BigCommerce

On Core, Embedded Payment Providers carry no additional BigCommerce provider fee, while Open Payment Providers carry 2.0% of eligible order GMV. That Open Provider fee falls to 1.0% on Growth and 0.6% on Scale. These provider fees are separate from what the payment processor charges. Stores exceeding Core's GMV threshold can move to a higher tier under BigCommerce's plan rules, so check projected sales before choosing.

View official BigCommerce page

Wix

Website + commerce
Website-first small ecommerce
Starting reference
Core US$29/mo, yearly paid in full
Catalog / GMV
50 GB storage; 5 collaborators
Platform fee
Not specified in this research
Billing
Yearly subscription paid in full

Wix is a website builder that adds ecommerce through its paid plans. Editorial fit: website-first small businesses wanting site building and ecommerce together. Wix offers a free website plan, but it does not include ecommerce selling or payments. Core, the first plan for accepting payments, costs US$29/month on a yearly subscription paid in full, with basic ecommerce, 50 GB storage and 5 collaborators. Main limitation: the free website plan lacks paid ecommerce and payment functionality.

COST STRUCTUREAnnual subscription + processing

Pricing & limits details: Wix

The US$29/month Core price is shown in the context of a yearly subscription paid in full, not an unconditional month-to-month price. Wix offers a 14-day money-back guarantee on most premium subscriptions rather than a dedicated ecommerce free trial. Payment-processing costs are separate from the subscription. Wix appears here for its ecommerce capability; compare the payment options available to your business before committing.

View official Wix page

Squarespace

Website + commerce
Design/content-led ecommerce
Starting reference
Core US$39/mo or US$29/mo annual equiv.
Catalog / GMV
Unlimited (pricing page); 10,000-product technical limit
Platform fee
Core 0%; Basic 2% commerce fee
Billing
Monthly or annual equivalent

Squarespace is a hosted platform for design- and content-led websites with built-in ecommerce. Editorial fit: stores where presentation and content matter alongside selling. A 14-day free trial is available. Core costs US$39/month on monthly billing, or US$29/month as an annual-billing equivalent, with a 0% Squarespace commerce transaction fee. Main limitation: the Basic plan carries a 2% Squarespace commerce transaction fee, so serious sellers may compare Core or above.

COST STRUCTURESubscription + plan-dependent commerce fee + processing

Pricing & limits details: Squarespace

Core, Plus and Advanced all carry a 0% Squarespace commerce transaction fee, while Basic carries 2%. That fee is Squarespace's own and is separate from payment-processing fees, which apply on every plan. Squarespace's pricing page describes products and services as unlimited, while its Help Center documents a site-wide technical limit of 10,000 products. If a store sells regularly, compare Basic's lower subscription against its 2% fee before assuming it is the cheaper option.

View official Squarespace page

Square

Online + POS
Online + in-person selling
Starting reference
Plus US$49/mo/location
Catalog / GMV
Per-location pricing
Platform fee
None (processing-rate model)
Billing
Per location, monthly

Square is a unified commerce platform that includes online store capability alongside in-person selling. Editorial fit: businesses combining online and in-person sales. Square Free costs US$0/month per location, Plus costs US$49/month per location and Premium costs US$149/month per location. Plus and Premium each offer a 30-day free trial. Main limitation: pricing is location-based, and payment-processing costs remain separate from subscription fees.

COST STRUCTUREPer-location plan + processing

Pricing & limits details: Square

Square's current online card-processing rates are 3.3% + 30¢ on Free, and 2.9% + 30¢ on both Plus and Premium. These are payment-processing rates, not monthly platform fees. Because subscriptions are charged per location, multi-location businesses should multiply the plan price accordingly. These unified plans replace Square's older standalone Square Online pricing, which no longer reflects the current structure.

View official Square page

Ecwid

Embedded commerce
Add ecommerce to an existing website
Starting reference
Venture US$35/mo or US$29/mo annual equiv.
Catalog / GMV
Up to 100 products (Venture)
Platform fee
0 Ecwid transaction fees
Billing
Monthly or annual (US$348/yr)

Ecwid adds ecommerce to an existing website and also offers its own Instant Site option. Editorial fit: businesses wanting a store without rebuilding their website. The Starter plan supports up to 10 products; verify its current price with Ecwid. Venture costs US$35/month, or US$29/month equivalent billed annually, and supports up to 100 products. Ecwid charges no platform transaction fees. Main limitation: plan product limits matter as the catalog grows.

COST STRUCTURESubscription + processing (no Ecwid transaction fee)

Pricing & limits details: Ecwid

Venture's annual billing totals US$348/year. Ecwid states it charges no transaction fees and no setup fees, though payment processors can still charge their own processing fees. Ecwid can be embedded into a site you already run or used through Instant Site if you don't have one. Check the product limit of each tier before migrating a growing catalog.

View official Ecwid page

Big Cartel

Creator store
Artists and small catalogs
Starting reference
Platinum US$15/mo or US$144/yr
Catalog / GMV
Up to 50 products (Platinum)
Platform fee
No platform/listing transaction fee
Billing
Monthly or annual

Big Cartel is a hosted ecommerce platform built for artists, makers and very small catalogs. Editorial fit: creators selling a limited range of products. Gold is free (US$0) for up to 5 products. Platinum offers a 7-day free trial, then costs US$15/month or US$144/year for up to 50 products. Main limitation: catalog limits are much smaller than on general-purpose ecommerce platforms.

COST STRUCTURECatalog-tier plan + processing

Pricing & limits details: Big Cartel

Diamond costs US$30/month or US$288/year and supports up to 500 products. Big Cartel says it does not charge platform or listing transaction fees, but payment-processing fees still apply. Its plan structure is built around product counts, so it may suit sellers with focused collections. Stores expecting large catalogs may need to compare general-purpose platforms.

View official Big Cartel page

Which Ecommerce Platform Fits Your Business?

More than one platform can fit each need. These are starting points, not winners.

Hosted

General hosted online store

Shopify is a starting point for a hosted store with unlimited products. Factor in payment choice, since a third-party provider adds a Shopify transaction fee on Basic.

Growing store, structured commerce needs

BigCommerce may fit stores that want structured commerce features. Check the Core GMV threshold and provider-fee rules against your projected sales before committing.

Self-hosted

WordPress/self-hosted control

Consider WooCommerce if you run WordPress and want control over hosting and extensions. Budget for hosting, extensions and processing rather than assuming the store is free.

Website + commerce

Website-first small business

Wix is relevant if your website comes first and selling is added on. Remember that its free website plan does not include ecommerce or payments.

Design/content-led store

Squarespace may fit stores where design and content matter as much as selling. Compare Core with Basic, since Basic carries a 2% commerce fee.

Online + POS

Online + in-person business

Consider Square if you sell both in person and online. Its plans are priced per location, and online processing rates vary by plan.

Embedded commerce

Add a store to an existing site

Ecwid is a starting point if you want ecommerce on a site you already run. Check product limits by plan as your catalog grows.

Creator store

Artist/maker or very small catalog

Big Cartel may fit artists and makers with focused collections. Its free Gold plan covers 5 products, and paid tiers raise the product limit.

Free vs. Paid + Important Pricing and Sales Limits

Price is only one cost. Each card breaks out the subscription, the catalog or GMV limit, the platform fee and payment processing separately.

Shopify

Subscription
Basic US$39/mo or US$29/mo yearly
Catalog / GMV
Unlimited products
Platform fee
2% third-party-provider fee on Basic
Processing
Shopify Payments 2.9% + 30¢ (separate)

WATCHTemporary promotions vs. regular price

WooCommerce

Subscription
Free, open-source core; no required subscription
Catalog / GMV
No fixed limit; depends partly on hosting/resources
Platform fee
No WooCommerce platform transaction fee
Processing
Payment gateway fees apply separately

WATCHHosting ~US$25–US$350/mo; extensions ~US$29–US$299/yr each

BigCommerce

Subscription
Core US$39/mo or US$29/mo annual
Catalog / GMV
US$30K trailing-12-month Inclusive GMV threshold
Platform fee
Open Provider 2%; Embedded 0% on Core
Processing
Processor fees separate from provider fee

WATCHTier movement when GMV threshold is exceeded

Wix

Subscription
Core US$29/mo, yearly paid in full
Catalog / GMV
50 GB storage; 5 collaborators
Platform fee
Not specified in this research
Processing
Processing separate from subscription

WATCHFree plan cannot accept payments

Squarespace

Subscription
Core US$39/mo or US$29/mo annual equivalent
Catalog / GMV
Pricing page: unlimited; Help Center: 10,000-product site-wide limit
Platform fee
Core 0%; Basic 2% commerce transaction fee
Processing
Payment processing separate on every plan

WATCHBasic's 2% fee

Square

Subscription
Free US$0; Plus US$49; Premium US$149 (per location/mo)
Catalog / GMV
Per-location pricing
Platform fee
Online processing: Free 3.3%+30¢; Plus/Premium 2.9%+30¢
Processing
Processing rate is the main transaction cost

WATCHPer-location cost for multiple locations

Ecwid

Subscription
Venture US$35/mo or US$29/mo annual equivalent (US$348/yr)
Catalog / GMV
Starter up to 10; Venture up to 100 products
Platform fee
0 Ecwid transaction fees; 0 setup fees
Processing
Processor fees apply separately

WATCHProduct limits by tier

Big Cartel

Subscription
Gold US$0; Platinum US$15/mo or US$144/yr
Catalog / GMV
5 products Gold; 50 Platinum; 500 Diamond
Platform fee
No Big Cartel platform/listing transaction fee
Processing
Payment-processing fees still apply

WATCHCatalog cap as business grows

What to check before paying

  • Monthly vs. annual billing
  • Platform transaction fees
  • Payment-processing fees
  • Product or catalog limits
  • GMV or sales thresholds
  • Hosted vs. self-hosted operating costs
  • Whether you also need in-person selling

Hosted vs. Self-Hosted + Transaction Fee Differences

These platforms do not all charge for ecommerce in the same way, so comparing only headline subscription prices can be misleading.

Hosted commerce

Shopify · BigCommerce · Wix · Squarespace · Square · Ecwid · Big Cartel

  • The platform operates the core ecommerce service
  • Subscription or free-tier access model
  • Processing and transaction fees may still apply on top

Self-hosted / WordPress

WooCommerce

  • Free, open-source core software
  • Hosting selected and paid for separately
  • Extensions and payment processing can add cost
1

Platform / subscription fee

What you pay to use the platform itself.

  • Shopify Basic: US$39/mo or US$29/mo yearly
  • BigCommerce Core: US$39/mo or US$29/mo annual
  • Square: priced per location
2

Platform transaction fee

An extra fee some platforms add on certain plans or payment choices.

  • Shopify: 2% with a third-party provider on Basic
  • Squarespace Basic: 2% commerce fee (Core and above: 0%)
  • BigCommerce: Open Provider 2% on Core, 1% Growth, 0.6% Scale
  • WooCommerce, Ecwid and Big Cartel charge none
3

Payment processing fee

What the payment processor charges to handle the transaction.

  • Shopify Payments: 2.9% + 30¢
  • Square online: 3.3% + 30¢ (Free) or 2.9% + 30¢ (Plus/Premium)
  • Applies on every platform, regardless of plan
  • Compare total cost, not just plan price.
  • Check annual-billing conditions.
  • Verify processor fees for your country and payment method.
  • Check product and GMV limits before migrating.
  • Recheck current fees immediately before subscribing.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best ecommerce platform for different businesses?

There is no single best ecommerce platform, and BestPickRadar did not run performance tests to pick a winner. Shopify suits general hosted stores and WooCommerce suits WordPress users wanting control. BigCommerce fits growing stores, while Wix and Squarespace fit website-first or design-led stores. Square fits online plus in-person sales, Ecwid adds a store to an existing site and Big Cartel suits small catalogs.

Which ecommerce platforms have free plans or trials?

Free options with conditions include WooCommerce's free core software, Wix's free website plan without ecommerce selling, Square Free at US$0/month per location and Big Cartel Gold at US$0 for 5 products. Trials include Shopify at 3 days, Big Cartel Platinum at 7 days, Squarespace at 14 days, BigCommerce at 15 days and Square Plus/Premium at 30 days. Wix offers a 14-day money-back guarantee rather than an ecommerce trial.

What is the best ecommerce platform for a small business?

It depends on what the business sells and how. Wix and Squarespace may fit small businesses whose website comes first, while Square suits those also selling in person. Big Cartel fits very small catalogs, and Ecwid adds a store to an existing site. Shopify is a general hosted option. Compare total cost, including transaction and processing fees, at your expected sales volume.

What is the difference between Shopify and WooCommerce?

Shopify is a hosted subscription platform: Basic costs US$39/month, or US$29/month on yearly billing, with hosting included and unlimited products. WooCommerce is free, open-source software for WordPress, but you pay separately for hosting, any paid extensions and payment processing. Shopify charges a 2% fee on Basic with third-party payment providers; WooCommerce charges no platform transaction fee.

Which ecommerce platform works for online and in-person selling?

Square is positioned for businesses combining online and in-person commerce, with an online store included in its unified platform. Square Free costs US$0/month per location, Plus US$49 and Premium US$149, each per location. Online card processing is 3.3% + 30¢ on Free and 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus and Premium. These processing rates are separate from subscription fees.

Which ecommerce platform is useful for a small product catalog?

Big Cartel is built around small catalogs: Gold is free for 5 products, Platinum covers up to 50 and Diamond up to 500. Ecwid's Starter plan supports up to 10 products and Venture up to 100, which suits stores adding a small catalog to an existing site. Shopify offers unlimited products, and Squarespace's pricing page describes products as unlimited, with a 10,000-product site-wide limit in its Help Center.

What is the difference between platform transaction fees and payment-processing fees?

A platform transaction fee is charged by the ecommerce platform itself on certain plans or payment choices, such as Squarespace Basic's 2% commerce fee or Shopify's fee with third-party providers. A payment-processing fee is charged by the payment processor for handling each transaction, such as Square's online card rates. A store can pay both, so check each separately.

What should I check before paying for an ecommerce platform?

Compare monthly and annual billing, and confirm whether a displayed price needs annual commitment. Check platform transaction fees and payment-processing fees separately. Review product or catalog limits and any GMV thresholds that could move you to a higher tier. Factor in hosting costs for self-hosted options, and decide whether you need in-person selling. Verify current pricing before subscribing.

SOURCE NOTES

Sources, Research Date & Disclosure

Prices, promotional offers, product limits, GMV thresholds and transaction or payment fees can change, and providers can restructure their plans. Verify pricing and fees immediately before subscribing. BestPickRadar did not independently test store performance, checkout conversion or usability. Editorial-fit statements come from documented plans and features, and the guide uses no ratings or scores. No affiliate relationships have been supplied for this guide.

RESEARCH UPDATEDOctober 12, 2026

Official provider pages