MARKETING AUTOMATION GUIDE

Best Marketing Automation Software and Tools for Different Workflows

There is no single best marketing automation platform for every business. Systems differ in what triggers a journey, how deep workflows can go, what customer data they use, which channels they reach and how closely they connect to a CRM. Contact count alone is not enough to compare them: some platforms price by contacts, some by active profiles and some per organization. Some require annual commitments or onboarding fees, and limits on actions, workflows or rules shape what you can build.

This guide compares eight platforms using documented plans, automation capabilities and limits. BestPickRadar did not independently test conversion lift, deliverability or workflow performance.

Marketing Automation Software Comparison

U.S. pricing from official provider pages, research updated October 12, 2026.

Eight marketing automation platforms compared by automation model, free access, pricing, automation limits, contact context and main limitation.
PlatformAutomation modelFree / trialPrimary price referenceKey automation limitContact / profile contextMain limitation
HubSpot Marketing HubCRM-LED AUTOMATIONCRM-integrated omnichannel automationNot stated for ProfessionalProfessional US$800/month on an annual plan; US$3,000 one-time Professional onboardingUnlimited email automation actions; up to 300 workflows for 10 teams2,000 marketing contactsHigh base cost, mandatory onboarding and contact-based scaling
ActiveCampaignFLEXIBLE WORKFLOW AUTOMATIONFlexible SMB/mid-market workflows14-day trial, no credit card, 100 email sends, 1 userFrom US$15/month below 1,000 contactsStarter: 5 actions per automation; Plus/Pro/Enterprise: unlimited automation actionsStarter maximum 25,000 contactsStarter workflow-depth restriction
BrevoMULTICHANNEL JOURNEY AUTOMATIONLower-cost multichannel automationFree US$0; 300 emails/day; automation for up to 2,000 contactsStandard from US$18/month (5,000 monthly emails on first tier)Standard: unlimited automation contacts; unlimited multi-step workflowsFree stores up to 100,000 contacts; Standard first tier stores up to 500Storage, sends and automation use different metrics
KlaviyoECOMMERCE EVENT AUTOMATIONEcommerce lifecycle automationFree up to 250 active profiles; 500 emails/month; flows availableVariable by active profiles and messaging requirementsFlows included on FreeScales with active-profile volumePrice scales with active-profile volume
Customer.ioEVENT-DRIVEN LIFECYCLE AUTOMATIONEvent/data-driven lifecycle automation14-day trial, no card, up to 5,000 messages across channelsEssentials US$100/month, billed monthlyVisual workflow builder; 2 object types5,000 profiles; 1 million emails/monthHigher entry cost and useful event/customer data required
Zoho Marketing AutomationJOURNEY + BEHAVIOR AUTOMATIONCost-conscious journey automation14-day trial, no card, 2,000 marketing contacts, 5,000 website visitors, 10 usersStandard US$14/month for 1,000 contacts billed annually; Professional US$22/month for 1,000 contacts billed annuallyAdvanced journey builder on Professional1,000-contact pricing basis, billed annuallyAdvanced journey features require Professional
Adobe Marketo EngageENTERPRISE B2B AUTOMATIONEnterprise B2B automationNot statedCustom pricing; contact AdobeGrowth reference: 10 users; 20,000 API calls/dayPricing influenced by database sizeCustom pricing and enterprise complexity
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account EngagementSALESFORCE B2B NURTURESalesforce-centric B2B nurturingNot statedGrowth+ US$1,250/org/month, billed annually50 automation rules10,000 contactsHigh base cost and annual commitment

HOW THIS GUIDE WAS BUILT

How We Evaluated

BestPickRadar compared these eight platforms using official pricing pages, plan comparisons and product documentation, with research updated on October 12, 2026. We looked at:

Data
  • Branching, conditions and behavioral or event data
  • Contact and profile limits
Workflow
  • Automation model, triggers and workflow depth
  • Ecommerce lifecycle and B2B lead-nurture support
  • Action, rule and workflow limits
Channel
  • Cross-channel actions
Handoff
  • CRM integration and sales handoff
Cost
  • Plan pricing, annual commitments, onboarding fees and custom pricing

We did not perform conversion, deliverability, workflow-performance, lead-scoring accuracy, support, usability or revenue-lift testing. Where pricing is custom or depends on volume, we say so rather than estimate a figure. This guide uses no scores, ratings or winner, and “fit” labels are editorial interpretations of documented capabilities and limits.

The 8 Marketing Automation Platforms

CRM-LED AUTOMATION

HubSpot Marketing Hub

CRM-integrated marketing automation
Professional
US$800/month
Billing
Annual plan
Marketing contacts
2,000
Onboarding
US$3,000 one time

HubSpot Marketing Hub connects marketing automation with HubSpot's CRM, lead management and reporting. Editorial fit: teams wanting marketing and CRM records closely connected. Professional is the meaningful automation tier for this guide: it costs US$800/month on an annual plan and includes 2,000 marketing contacts. Professional also requires a mandatory US$3,000 one-time onboarding fee. Main limitation: a high base cost plus mandatory onboarding, with pricing that rises as marketing-contact volume grows.

WORKFLOW CONTEXT
CRM recordworkflowmarketing actionsales handoff
Read full profile

Professional includes 3 Core Seats and 3,000 HubSpot Credits. Its automation covers omni-channel marketing automation, unlimited email automation actions and advanced workflows, with up to 300 workflows for 10 teams. Starter is materially more limited, supporting simpler automation and less workflow depth, so it is not the reference here. Marketing-contact volume affects cost, so model your database size and the onboarding fee into a first-year budget.

View official HubSpot Marketing Hub page
FLEXIBLE WORKFLOW AUTOMATION

ActiveCampaign

Flexible SMB/mid-market workflows
Trial
14 days
Entry price
US$15/month
Starter
5 actions/automation
Plus+
Unlimited actions

ActiveCampaign is a marketing automation platform built around configurable multi-step workflows. Editorial fit: SMB and mid-market teams wanting flexible automation without enterprise entry pricing. A 14-day trial is available without a credit card. Paid plans start at US$15/month for accounts below 1,000 contacts. Starter allows a maximum of 5 actions per automation, while Plus, Pro and Enterprise allow unlimited automation actions. Main limitation: the low-cost Starter tier's 5-action limit restricts workflow depth.

WORKFLOW CONTEXT
Triggerconditionup to 5 actions on Starter
Read full profile

ActiveCampaign states its trial lets you test with as many contacts as needed, with 100 email sends and 1 user. Starter supports a maximum of 25,000 contacts. Pricing scales with contact volume, plan and feature needs, so US$15/month applies only below 1,000 contacts. Teams planning branching journeys with many steps should compare Plus or higher, where automation actions are unlimited.

View official ActiveCampaign page
MULTICHANNEL JOURNEY AUTOMATION

Brevo

Lower-cost multichannel automation
Free
US$0
Free automation
2,000 contacts
Standard
From US$18/month
Standard automation
Unlimited contacts

Brevo is a multichannel marketing platform with accessible free and paid automation tiers. Editorial fit: cost-conscious teams wanting multichannel automation. The Free plan costs US$0 with no time limit, sends 300 emails per day and allows marketing automation for up to 2,000 contacts. Standard starts at US$18/month and allows marketing automation for unlimited contacts. Main limitation: pricing and contact storage scale by tier, and some advanced capabilities need higher plans or add-ons.

WORKFLOW CONTEXT
Segmentmultichannel workflowemail / SMS / other actions
Read full profile

Brevo counts stored contacts and automation contacts separately. Free stores up to 100,000 contacts, but automation reaches only 2,000 of them. Standard's first tier includes 5,000 monthly email sends and stores up to 500 contacts, while automation contacts are unlimited. Standard also adds unlimited multi-step workflows, A/B testing, advanced reports and AI send-time optimization. Check each metric separately before estimating cost.

View official Brevo page
ECOMMERCE EVENT AUTOMATION

Klaviyo

Ecommerce lifecycle automation
Free profiles
250
Free emails
500/month
Automation
Flows included
Paid model
Profile-based scaling

Klaviyo is an automation platform built around customer, purchase and behavioral data. Editorial fit: ecommerce lifecycle automation. The Free tier costs US$0 within its limits, covering up to 250 active profiles and 500 emails per month, and supports building automated flows. It can be used indefinitely within those limits. Paid pricing scales with active profiles and messaging requirements. Main limitation: total cost changes as the customer database grows.

WORKFLOW CONTEXT
Purchase / behavior eventcustomer segmentlifecycle flow
Read full profile

Klaviyo has no single paid starting price to compare. Cost depends on active profile count, selected messaging requirements and sending volume. On applicable paid tiers, email sending capacity generally scales to around 10 times the maximum active-profile count. Stores should estimate active profiles before comparing Klaviyo with contact-based platforms, because a growing customer base moves the account into higher tiers.

View official Klaviyo page
EVENT-DRIVEN LIFECYCLE AUTOMATION

Customer.io

Event/data-driven lifecycle messaging
Trial
14 days
Essentials
US$100/month
Profiles
5,000
Email
1M/month

Customer.io is a lifecycle messaging platform built around event and customer data. Editorial fit: product-led or data-rich businesses needing event-driven journeys. A 14-day trial needs no credit card and includes up to 5,000 messages across channels. Essentials costs US$100/month, billed monthly, with 5,000 profiles and 1 million emails per month. Main limitation: a higher entry price than SMB-focused tools, and full value generally assumes good customer and event data.

WORKFLOW CONTEXT
Product eventaudience logicjourneyemail / SMS / push / in-app
Read full profile

Essentials includes a visual workflow builder, 2 object types and basic data integrations. Premium starts at US$1,000/month, billed yearly, with custom profile and email volume. Customer.io supports event-driven journeys across email, SMS, push, in-app and other workflow actions. It is most relevant when product activity or customer events, rather than form fills alone, should trigger messages.

View official Customer.io page
JOURNEY + BEHAVIOR AUTOMATION

Zoho Marketing Automation

Cost-conscious journey automation
Trial
14 days
Standard
US$14/month
Professional
US$22/month
Price context
1,000 contacts / annual billing

Zoho Marketing Automation offers visual journeys, lead nurturing and website-behavior automation. Editorial fit: cost-conscious businesses wanting journey automation. A 14-day trial is available without a credit card. Standard costs US$14/month for 1,000 contacts billed annually, and Professional costs US$22/month for 1,000 contacts billed annually. Main limitation: pricing scales with contacts, and more sophisticated journey capabilities require Professional.

WORKFLOW CONTEXT
Website behaviorsegmentjourneymultichannel action
Read full profile

The trial includes 2,000 marketing contacts, 5,000 website visitors and 10 users. Standard includes a basic journey builder, pre-built templates, basic segmentation, website behavior tracking, website goals, and SMS, social and WhatsApp marketing. Professional adds an advanced journey builder, advanced segmentation, journey reports, path tracing, re-entry criteria and ecommerce marketing.

View official Zoho Marketing Automation page
ENTERPRISE B2B AUTOMATION

Adobe Marketo Engage

Enterprise B2B automation
Reference
Growth
Price
Custom
Users
10
API
20,000/day

Adobe Marketo Engage is an enterprise B2B marketing automation platform for complex nurture, lead and account management and campaign workflows. Editorial fit: enterprise B2B marketing teams. Pricing is custom, so contact Adobe for a quote; there is no public fixed price. The Growth package includes 10 users and 20,000 API calls per day. Main limitation: custom pricing and enterprise complexity make it a poor simple starting point for SMBs.

WORKFLOW CONTEXT
Lead/account datacampaign logicnurtureCRM integration
Read full profile

Marketo Engage is sold in Growth, Select, Prime and Ultimate packages. Growth includes core capabilities such as email marketing, segmentation, campaign and journey automation, measurement, a lead and account database and CRM integration. Database size is an important pricing factor. Buyers should request quotes at their expected database size and confirm which package their workflows require.

View official Adobe Marketo Engage page
SALESFORCE B2B NURTURE

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Salesforce-centric B2B nurturing
Growth+
US$1,250/org/month
Billing
Annual
Contacts
10,000
Rules
50

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement is a B2B marketing automation platform focused on lead nurturing, lead scoring and Salesforce sales alignment. Editorial fit: Salesforce-centric B2B teams. Growth+ costs US$1,250 per org per month, billed annually, with 10,000 contacts and 50 automation rules. Main limitation: a high base cost and an annual commitment.

WORKFLOW CONTEXT
Leadscore / rulenurtureSalesforce sales handoff
Read full profile

Growth+ also includes 50 forms, 50 form handlers and 50 landing pages. Higher tiers, all billed annually: Growth+ US$1,250/org/month with 50 automation rules; Plus+ US$2,750/org/month with 100 automation rules; Advanced+ US$4,400/org/month with 150 automation rules; Premium+ US$15,000/org/month with 150 automation rules. Check rule counts against your existing automations before choosing a tier.

View official Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement page

Which Automation Model Fits Your Team?

More than one platform can fit each model. These are starting points, not winners.

01

CRM-integrated marketing + sales handoff

HubSpot Marketing Hub is a starting point if marketing workflows should hand leads directly to CRM records and sales. Budget for the Professional tier and its onboarding fee.

02

Flexible SMB/mid-market workflow automation

Consider ActiveCampaign for configurable multi-step workflows at SMB-friendly entry pricing. Check whether Starter's 5-action limit fits, or plan for a higher tier.

03

Lower-cost multichannel journeys

Brevo may fit teams wanting multichannel automation on a tight budget. Compare its stored-contact, send and automation-contact limits separately.

04

Ecommerce lifecycle automation

Klaviyo is relevant for stores building flows from purchase and behavioral data. Estimate active profiles, since they drive pricing.

05

Event-driven product/customer messaging

Consider Customer.io if product events and customer data should trigger journeys across email, SMS, push and in-app channels.

06

Cost-conscious journey building

Zoho Marketing Automation may fit businesses wanting visual journeys and website-behavior automation at contact-based pricing. Advanced journeys require Professional.

07

Enterprise B2B nurture and account automation

Adobe Marketo Engage is relevant for enterprise B2B teams managing complex nurture and account workflows. Expect custom pricing based on database size.

08

Salesforce-native B2B nurturing

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement may fit B2B teams running sales in Salesforce and needing lead scoring and nurturing tied to it.

Pricing + Important Automation Limits

A limits matrix for what each platform charges for, how it counts contacts or profiles, and what it caps.

Free or trial access, price reference, contact or profile context, automation limits and what to watch for eight marketing automation platforms.
PlatformFree / trialPriceContacts / profilesAutomationWatch
HubSpot Marketing HubNot stated for ProfessionalProfessional US$800/month, annual plan2,000 marketing contactsUnlimited email automation actions; up to 300 workflows / 10 teamsUS$3,000 mandatory onboarding
ActiveCampaign14 days, no cardFrom US$15/month below 1,000 contactsStarter maximum 25,000 contactsStarter 5 actions; Plus+ unlimited actionsWorkflow depth on Starter
BrevoUS$0, no time limitStandard from US$18/monthFree stores 100,000; Standard first tier stores 500Free up to 2,000 contacts; Standard unlimited automation contactsSeparate storage and automation metrics
Klaviyo250 active profiles; 500 emails/monthVariable by active profilesScales with active-profile volumeFlows available on FreeActive-profile growth
Customer.io14 days, no cardEssentials US$100/month, monthly5,000 profilesVisual workflow builderData readiness + higher entry cost
Zoho Marketing Automation14 days, no cardStandard US$14/month or Professional US$22/month, both for 1,000 contacts, billed annually1,000-contact pricing basisAdvanced journeys on ProfessionalPlan depth for complex journeys
Adobe Marketo EngageNot statedCustom pricing; contact AdobePricing influenced by database sizeGrowth reference: 10 users; 20,000 API calls/dayQuote-based enterprise setup
Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account EngagementNot statedGrowth+ US$1,250/org/month, billed annually10,000 contacts50 automation rulesAnnual commitment + rule limits

What to check before choosing

  • Contact or active-profile pricing
  • Workflow, action or rule limits
  • Annual billing commitments
  • Mandatory onboarding or setup fees
  • CRM and ecommerce integrations
  • Event or behavioral trigger requirements
  • Channel coverage beyond email

How Marketing Automation Systems Differ

Marketing automation platforms differ less by whether they can send an email and more by what triggers a journey, what data the workflow can use, how complex the logic can become and where the action goes next.

CRM-led automation

HubSpot Marketing Hub · Salesforce Account Engagement

Lead and contact records, lifecycle stages, scoring and sales handoff are central to how workflows run.

Behavior / event-led automation

Customer.io · Klaviyo

Journeys respond to events, product activity, customer behavior or ecommerce data rather than only list membership.

Campaign / journey automation

ActiveCampaign · Brevo · Zoho Marketing Automation

Visual workflows combine triggers, segments, conditions and channel actions for SMB and mid-market teams.

Enterprise B2B automation

Adobe Marketo Engage

Designed around larger databases, campaign operations, lead and account management and enterprise integration needs.

THE AUTOMATION WORKFLOW CHAIN

  1. Trigger
  2. Segment / audience
  3. Condition / branch
  4. Action / channel
  5. CRM / sales handoff
  6. Measurement

Platforms differ in how much each link can do and which data feeds it.

  • Check how workflows are triggered.
  • Check how many actions, rules or workflows your plan allows.
  • Check whether pricing scales by contacts, profiles or organization.
  • Check whether your CRM or ecommerce data can trigger journeys.
  • Verify plan limits before migrating existing automations.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is marketing automation software?

Marketing automation software runs multi-step journeys automatically based on triggers such as a form fill, purchase, product event or lifecycle change. Workflows use segments, conditions and branches to decide which action comes next, such as sending a message, updating a CRM record or alerting sales. Platforms differ in their data model, workflow depth, channel coverage and CRM connection.

What is the best marketing automation software for different businesses?

There is no single best platform, and BestPickRadar did not run performance tests to pick a winner. HubSpot fits CRM-integrated automation, while ActiveCampaign, Brevo and Zoho suit SMB and mid-market journeys. Klaviyo fits ecommerce lifecycles and Customer.io event-driven messaging. Adobe Marketo Engage and Salesforce Account Engagement serve B2B and enterprise teams. Match the platform to your automation model first.

Which marketing automation platform is useful for small businesses?

ActiveCampaign starts at US$15/month below 1,000 contacts, though Starter limits automations to 5 actions. Brevo's Free plan allows automation for up to 2,000 contacts, and Standard starts at US$18/month. Zoho Standard costs US$14/month for 1,000 contacts billed annually. Klaviyo's Free tier suits small stores within 250 active profiles. Compare workflow limits, not just price.

What is the difference between marketing automation and email marketing?

Email marketing centers on creating and sending campaigns and newsletters to a list. Marketing automation runs triggered, multi-step journeys that use conditions, behavioral or event data, CRM handoffs and branching logic to decide what happens next, often across several channels. Many platforms do both; the difference is whether your main need is sending campaigns or automating journeys.

Which marketing automation software works well with CRM workflows?

HubSpot Marketing Hub connects automation closely with HubSpot's CRM, lead management and reporting, with Professional as the meaningful automation tier. Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement is built for Salesforce-centric lead nurturing, scoring and sales alignment. Adobe Marketo Engage includes CRM integration within its Growth package. Confirm how your CRM records trigger and receive workflow updates.

Which platform is useful for ecommerce lifecycle automation?

Klaviyo is positioned for ecommerce lifecycle automation driven by customer, purchase and behavioral data, and its Free tier supports flows for up to 250 active profiles. Paid pricing scales with active profiles and messaging requirements. Zoho Marketing Automation adds ecommerce marketing on Professional. Check that your store's data can trigger journeys before migrating.

What pricing and automation limits should I compare?

Compare the pricing unit (contacts, active profiles or per organization) and any annual commitment. Check automation limits, such as ActiveCampaign Starter's 5 actions per automation, Salesforce Account Engagement's 50 rules on Growth+ and HubSpot Professional's workflow allowance. Factor in mandatory fees like HubSpot's US$3,000 onboarding, and confirm custom pricing directly with providers such as Adobe.

When should a business consider enterprise marketing automation?

Enterprise platforms become relevant when a B2B team manages a large lead and account database, complex nurture programs and deep CRM integration. Adobe Marketo Engage uses custom, database-based pricing, and Salesforce Account Engagement starts at US$1,250 per org per month billed annually. For simpler needs, SMB-focused platforms may cover the required workflows at lower entry cost.

SOURCE NOTES

Sources, Research Date & Disclosure

Prices, contact and profile limits, automation limits, trial terms and onboarding fees can change, and providers can restructure plans. Enterprise and custom pricing requires direct confirmation with the provider. Verify pricing immediately before subscribing. BestPickRadar did not independently test automation performance, conversion lift, deliverability or usability. Editorial-fit statements come from documented plan capabilities, and the guide uses no ratings or scores. No affiliate relationships have been supplied for this guide.

RESEARCH UPDATEDOctober 12, 2026

Official provider pages